Philadelphia, PA Accident and Injury Lawyer Discusses Car Accident Laws
Pennsylvania is a state that practices no-fault insurance for car accidents. No fault insurance is an insurance contract in which the insureds are indemnified for any losses by their own insurance company. This occurs regardless of who is at fault for the accident. However, you are restricted from seeking recovery through the civil legal system for losses that were caused by another party. In Pennsylvania, this no-fault insurance also applies to any medical injuries that result from the accident, not just any property injuries to your car.
Car Accident Financial Responsibility Law
The Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law specifies what your rights are when you are injured in a car accident in Pennsylvania. The law specifies that when you purchase car insurance, you must purchase medical benefits of at least $5,000. This falls under first-party benefits, which are the benefits purchased to protect you, your family, and the passengers in the car.
Auto Liability Coverage
In Pennsylvania, you must purchase at least $15,000 of liability insurance. Uninsured and underinsured coverage in Pennsylvania is an optional purchase, which isn’t true in all states. You can also stack these types of insurances in Pennsylvania. This means that if you own more than one vehicle, and the vehicles are insured under more than one policy, the benefits can be multiplied by the amount of vehicles that you own. For example, if you have $50,000 in underinsured benefits, and you own three vehicles, you would have $150,000 in underinsured benefits available. If you choose not to stack the benefits, you will then have a lower insurance premium than an individual who has chosen to stack the benefits.
Driving Without Insurance in Pennsylvania
If you are pulled over and are found to be driving without insurance, or if you are found at the scene of an accident without insurance, you will be assessed a minimum fine of $300. Your car’s registration and your driver’s license will also be suspended for three months. After three months, you will be charged a $50 fee to restore your car’s registration and another $50 to get your license back.
Contact a Philadelphia, PA Car Accident and Injury Attorney Today!
Contact Jeffrey Harlan Penneys, Esquire, Pennsylvania car injury attorney, at 1-215-771-0430 (Cell) or 1-800-InjuryLaw (1-800-465-8795) to apply these laws to your situation. No recovery… no fees or costs to you, guaranteed!